+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Top 10 Mistakes That Will Sink Your Immigration Application

gladiateur19

Aug 30, 2009
Hey Guys i would love to share this with you...hoping it helps people who are doing their applications and submitting it soon
it is a topic i found on some website

Posted on October 1st, 2012 in Canada Immigration Success
I’ve been practising law for over 13 years, and I’ve seen a lot of errors that lead to rejected applications, or long delays in processing. Below I’ve compiled the top 10 errors to avoid in submitting your application for Canadian permanent or temporary residence.
1. Not signing the forms
Sounds simple right? But it happens all the time. A form is not signed where the individual is required to sign. For example, the Additional Family Information form can require 3 signatures on one page. Often people will sign the bottom of this form, and miss the fact that 2 other signatures are also required depending on whether there is a spouse or children. Failing to sign this (or any other form) properly means a returned file weeks (or even months!) after it has been filed.
Another example is the (Generic??) form that has a section that requires signatures only if a translator was used. If there was no translator used and you mistakenly sign in this spot, your application will be sent back to you at some point in the future.
So triple-check your forms and sign where required (and only where required).
2. Paying the fee incorrectly
Different streams require different methods of payment. Typically, only a bank draft, certified cheque or money order will suffice.
However, a sponsorship application for permanent residence usually requires payment through the internet (or a bank paid receipt). For example, if you pay the Right of Permanent Residence fee by bank draft to the foreign visa office, it will likely be returned to you, delaying the file, as typically it is paid in Canada online.