+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Self-employed experience for the FSWP. Confused. Please help.

am4501

Jan 27, 2016
Hi everybody!

I am new to the forum and just has started my journey to Canada.

Here is the question I am confused with.

Most of my professional experience comes from the companies I was employed by, which I will confirm with the letters of reference. But for the last 5 years I work as a self-employed consultant in the same industry with the same NOC. Does this experience contributes to my primary NOC? How to confirm self-employed experience, copies of the contracts with my clients, letters of reference from my clients? Any ideas are welcome.

Thanks in advance!

Alexey

joohi

Star Member
Jul 24, 2016
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hello,
I am pretty much in the same situation as your were. I have worked in a software company for 2 years, after that I have worked as a self employed software developer for 1.5 years. 6 months back, I incorporated my own software product company. How do I mention my work experience in the Express Entry profile. Can you tell me how you went about with your application?

istari

Champion Member
Jul 5, 2016
Australia
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
joohi said:
Hello,
I am pretty much in the same situation as your were. I have worked in a software company for 2 years, after that I have worked as a self employed software developer for 1.5 years. 6 months back, I incorporated my own software product company. How do I mention my work experience in the Express Entry profile. Can you tell me how you went about with your application?
You will need to provide documentation that proves everything that would otherwise be mentioned in your reference letter (roles and responsibilities, salary, etc.).
For roles and responsibilities, you ill need to get co-workers or clients to write you a reference letter, stating that they have observed you completing those tasks.