+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR as a line cook/head cook or anything similar (NOC B)?

kreop

Nov 26, 2016
Hello. I graduated from a college in Ontario, and have attended secondary school in Ontario as well. I have been working as a line cook for around 6 months, since I graduated. I have a few questions:

1. From my understanding, once I have 1 full year of experience, I can apply via CEC for a PR?

2. Should I be applying via CEC or federal skilled worker program?

3. Has anyone received PR working as a line cook or something similar?

4. Does my education have to be related to the profession? I studied hospitality and tourism management.

5. Once I complete my 1 year of work, does my employer have to fill out a form to provide as proof when applying for PR? Or do I simply just apply myself?

I have found some answers online for these questions, but I would also like to know others' experiences and know how my chances are. Thank you very much for all of your help. I really appreciate it!

kreop

Nov 26, 2016
1. Yes.
2. It doesn't matter. Both are the same process but differ in the eligibility criteria. Do you have foreign work experience?
4. Not necessarily.
5. The employer.
Thank you for the reply! I do not have foreign work experience. Does the form the employer fills in have a specific name I can search to find online?

kreop

Nov 26, 2016
The following documents are mandatory for each work experience declared:

• a reference or experience letter from the employer, which
    • should be an official document printed on company letterhead (must include the applicant’s name, the company’s contact information [address, telephone number and email address], and the name, title and signature of the immediate supervisor or personnel officer at the company),