+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Post Graduate Work Experience

trackCEC

Jul 11, 2011
Hi there,
I completed a two years Master's program in Biology and applied for PGWE in 2009. For some reason, I was only given 2 years of open work permit until 2011, instead of 3 years. I know many who completed two year Master's program have got three years WP.
My work permit is expiring soon but I would like it to be extended. Is it worth explaining my situation and apply for PGWE again? Will I be granted one more year of work permit? Or is it waste of time and money?

Could someone answer my questions please?

(Note: Thanks Leon for your reply to my earlier post) [/size][/size][/size][/size]

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
You can definitely ask them why they only gave you two years and ask for your extra year. Otherwise your employer will have to apply for an LMO so you can apply for a regular work permit.

trackCEC

Jul 11, 2011
Thanks Leon.
Could you please guide me how and whom to contact? After I got my PGWR in 2009, I wanted to ask the same question why two years? When I tried contacting over the phone, the automated voice message says the call centre will not deal with any decision made al ready on the application.

Should I write to the following address explaining my situation?
Citizenship and Immigration -Work Permit
CPC-Vegreville
6212 - 55th Avenue, Unit 555
Vegreville AB T9C 1X6

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
If that is the address where you applied for it, then yes. If they can issue them when you apply, surely they can deal with questions or at least bring them to the right people.

icecool222

Aug 1, 2010
trackCEC said:
Hi there,