+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

International student travel during post graduate work permit and more. PLz help

Northamerican

Jul 18, 2010
Hi

I am an international student here in Ontario. I have finished my graduation and applied for PGWP. Its taking longer than usual and I wanted to know if I can travel during this time and come back from my country after one and a half month. I am from a country that requires TRV to enter Canada,

here is my case:

I have my both student permit and student visa valid until 2012. My question is can I re-enter on the basis of these 2 documents or they will question my intention ( like in case they may tell, you are done with ur graduation ,,,then y r u coming back..)

If i say i applied for PGWP, what if they want to c it?? will they deny entry ??

Can I go to usa ?? I heard that one can go to usa even if the TRV is expired !!

one more question is can I study when on PGWP??

Pls help...thanks!

Kamloops

Star Member
Mar 30, 2010
Category........
Visa Office......
Singapore
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
June 2013
AOR Received.
July 2013
File Transfer...
July 2013
Med's Request
May 12, 2014, re-medical
Med's Done....
June 2013
Passport Req..
May 12, 2014 and Status Changed to "In Process"
VISA ISSUED...
Passport sent via VFS on 14 Jun 2014
Hi,

I was an int'l student for 9 years in Canada and got lately my residence. I went through your situation. Unless there is a family emergency you should not travel outside Canada and USA until you receive your new work permit. The best idea is to confirm this with the CIC agent (phone # is in your permit) and wrote down the agent ID and date.

As for traveling to the USA, you can travel as many as you want. Try avoiding airplanes or any commercial career. The Canadian authority may keep track your travel information.

You can go to the USA without your TRV. The US agents want you to show your study permit. They never want to see your TRV.