+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

In-land Spousal Sponsorship

Gemini13

Apr 24, 2009
Hi everyone! I have a lot of questions! But first, here's my story:

I met my husband a few years ago and got married in March, 2008. He came to Canada as an Intertional university student in 2001. After graduation, he applied for Immigration but was refused (that was back in 2006/2007). His Visa was said to be expired on May 25, 2008.

After we got married, I sponsored him. I was a full-time student then but now I'm part-time. I work and my parents also support us whenever needed. We've mentioned this fact along with all other necessary informations.

Now my questions:

1 A. Is there anyway they may raise questions about the validity of our marriage because it took place in March and his visa was (co-incidently!) to be expired in May?!

B). Will they care that my student status has been changed?

2 A). Does the income of the sponsor (Me) matter in the case of in-land spousal sponsorship?

B) Just how much does it matter?

3. Is there a backgfound/criminal check for the sponsor? I have never been charged with anything therefore don't have any records but there has been an incident which I paid a fine for and the matter has since been settled. Will that bit of history pose a threat? (I hope not!)

4. What are some of the key things they look for before making a decision?

5. Just how long DOES it take for everything to work out? (it says they received our application in Nov. '08 and started the work in Dec.) The wait is driving both of us insane. I worry about it everyday while juggling 10 thousand other things!!

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
1A It's possible but if you had otherwise good info about your relationship, it shouldn't be a problem
1B No
2A No
2B Not at all
3 Shouldn't be a problem
4 Most important if they think it's a legitimate relationship as long as neither of you is a criminal etc.