+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Full Time?

browni

Aug 6, 2009
Hey everyone!
I've graduated from a university and got a job a couple weeks ago. The company I am working for had to reduce its work days from mon-friday to mon-thurs (4 days a week) due to recession. If I keep working like this I work just 28 hours a week. with this work hours, can I get PR with Canadian Experience Class? I called CIC today and rep gave me hours I have to work for a year in a company and I calculated the number that I have to work in a week is 37.5 hours\week. Another confusion is that even if I work 5 days in this company, that makes 35 hours/week not 37.5 hours/week because I work 7 hours a day. How about that?

Another question coming from the position I am working. I graduated from a mechanical engineering and I am working in a machine part manufacturing company. However my position is not completly engineering position, it is more likely manufacturing technologist. Is it really a big problem or If I get a nice explained letter from my company saying what I have done and the things related to my study, is it really enough or am I going away from my PR?

Thanks in advance

SimzGarry

Aug 23, 2009
Hi,

I guess you have to have at least 1950 hrs of full time work exp in one year.

About your job, If your are on open work permit, and your job description is similar to the one stated on the NOC website for your particular job, then You should be ok.

DO you have open work permit?

professional 1

Champion Member
Apr 25, 2009
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
To be considered as a full time base for the CEC, you need at least 37,5 per week not less.

For your second question, it doesn't matter whether you work in your field of study or not as long as your work experience falls under skill level 0 or A or B.

H

healknight

IF I am a draftman, what is my skill, level 0 or A or B ?

professional 1

Champion Member
Apr 25, 2009
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..