+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

EE with non accompanying spouse

Kumar35823

Jul 26, 2021
Hello all,
I need suggestions applying for PR.
This is my case
I am married currently in canada with pgwp extended to next year October.
My wife is also with me in canada on sowp valid until end of this year.still need to apply for extension to match mine
I have 2 yrs of Canadian experience and my pr points including spouse are 464 and without her are 497. I don't think they are going to take a draw with 464 anytime soon
Can I first apply without including her and then sponsor her once I get my pr?
Any advises suggestions....

Anyone tried it recently and outcomes?
Thanks

CNP

Champion Member
Oct 26, 2018
I guess - since your spouse is already in Canada, it might become difficult to justify as to why she is marked as un-accompanying. I am not an expert though and suggest you wait for others to reply/do thorough research before you arrive at any conclusion.

iSaidGoodDay

VIP Member
Feb 3, 2023
Kaneda
I guess - since your spouse is already in Canada, it might become difficult to justify as to why she is marked as un-accompanying. I am not an expert though and suggest you wait for others to reply/do thorough research before you arrive at any conclusion.
There are some cases on this forum where people successfully went the non-accompanying route: https://www.canadavisa.com/canada-immigration-discussion-board/threads/ee-with-non-accompanying-spouse-who-is-already-in-canada-on-sowp.617945/post-9234576

I didn't find cases of refusals in the last few years. Definitely worth talking to a RCIC in this case though.

CNP

Champion Member
Oct 26, 2018

iSaidGoodDay

VIP Member
Feb 3, 2023
Kaneda
Yep people do it, however as I mentioned, OP might need a very strong reason. Just a guess.