+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Does working as a contractor hinder express entry?

kartiw

Jan 2, 2019
Hello everyone,
So, I am about to complete my master's degree from SFU. I have been contacted by a recruiter for a contractor position with a financial company as a computer scientist. She said that "there might be a possibility you cannot apply for express entry if you are working as a contractor and not as a full-time employee." She is also not sure about this and the CIC website doesn't say anything about as well. I was wondering if this true.

Any clarification is appreciated.

Thank you.

P.S: I have no prior work experience.

Last edited:
Reactions: AnerkSolom

Takentaken421

Aug 30, 2018
This is the first time I am hearing this. I am not experience in employment in Canada, but as per my basic understanding I don't think it will be an issue as long as you have enough documents to prove your employment.

kartiw

Jan 2, 2019
This is the first time I am hearing this. I am not experience in employment in Canada, but as per my basic understanding I don't think it will be an issue as long as you have enough documents to prove your employment.
Exactly, even i was surprised to hear this. So i am hoping someone would give me a concrete answer.

ContactFront

Champion Member
Feb 22, 2017
If this job is considered self employed, then you can't use it to apply under CEC.

Edit: Missed your first sentence, any experience you gained while live in Canada as a full time student doesn't count.

Last edited:

schilz

Star Member
Dec 25, 2018
Depends,
Would you be working for company A, which then is selling services to company B and you'll be a contractor in company B?
If so, it might be ok since your employer is company A and if you are considered a full time employee for company A it should be alright.

If you are working as a contractor for company A, then most likely won't be eligible as it would be interpreted as self-employment.

hgunawa