+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Asylum seeker child benefits

New_gradutae

May 3, 2024
I'm an international student currently receiving child benefits. I'll soon graduate from my study program and plan to apply for a postgraduate open work permit through flagpoling.

I'm under time constraints to secure a job, generate pay stubs, and renew my family's temporary statuses. Additionally, the likelihood of obtaining regular PR (such as through the skilled person program) appears low.

My wife and children are considering applying for asylum without me.

I'm wondering if I would still be eligible to continue receiving child benefits, given that I've maintained my temporary status. The eligibility criteria don't seem to specify anything about the status of the children who are living with you to receive child benefits.

Any insights or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
I'm an international student currently receiving child benefits. I'll soon graduate from my study program and plan to apply for a postgraduate open work permit through flagpoling.

I'm under time constraints to secure a job, generate pay stubs, and renew my family's temporary statuses. Additionally, the likelihood of obtaining regular PR (such as through the skilled person program) appears low.

I'm wondering if I would still be eligible to continue receiving child benefits, given that I've maintained my temporary status. The eligibility criteria don't seem to specify anything about the status of the children who are living with you to receive child benefits.

To the best of my knowledge you will still qualify for child benefits.