+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Asking 6 months visitors visa for my in laws my student visa expires Mar 31,2017

venkatesh jalubula

Star Member
Mar 10, 2016
Hi all,

Hope things are going good for all.

I am an international masters student in Canada. My wife is pregnant ( she is due in Jun 2017) and I am thinking of bringing my father and mother-in-laws for her delivery i.e from Mar2017 to Aug 2017. The issue is I have my student visa valid till only Mar 2017. I am in the process of extending my study permit and wife's OWP. Is it okay to ask 6 months visitors visa to my in laws?? or I have to ask onlu for Mar 17

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks. have a great day.

Bryanna

VIP Member
Sep 8, 2014
Hi Venkatesh,

Regardless of when your Masters program finishes, asking for a 6-months visa would indicate that your in-laws have weak ties to their home country.

Do keep their visit to 2-3 weeks max. And they must demonstrate their strong ties: Employment or business, property or land ownership, a good financial situation without borrowing from anyone, family ties and previous travel history (if any).

Also mentioning that they will visit to take care of your wife/baby is a big no-no

Cheers

venkatesh jalubula

Star Member
Mar 10, 2016
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

My wife needs mother- in- laws help badly. I want to keep my mother-in-law in Canada as long as possible.

What if I ditch my father-in-laws application and ask for 6 months visa for mother in law with out mentioning about my wife's pregnancy??. Will this make my application any stronger??

Any suggestions

vrahulan

Star Member
Apr 19, 2015
Apply for 2-3 weeks, the minimum CIC would give is 6 months.
If their passport is valid for more than 2-3 years, they would be getting a 10 year multiple entry visa.

Keep the days of stay in canada to minimum and strengthen the ties to India. That's all the officer wants to see - strong reasons to return!

Bryanna

VIP Member
Sep 8, 2014