+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working for an international organization

NZ_0989

Jun 8, 2024
Hi there - i work for the United Nations under a remote consultant contract. I have been working with them since 2019. Earlier I was stationed in NY but once i got my PR i relocated to canada and moved a remote status. The nature of my job requires me to travel outside of canada a lot. On average I am out of the country 3 months.Additonally, i am looking at a work rotation that may requires me to move to east asia (most probably next year). I have almost 1.5 years left on my PR time towards citizenship.

Looking at the rules online. it seems like time abroad can be counted towards PR status, however this is only if you work for a canadian business or govt org. I can't seem to find anything for international organizations.

Would anyone have experience on how to expediate this process or work around it.

Thank you!

dpenabill

VIP Member
Apr 2, 2010
Hi there - i work for the United Nations under a remote consultant contract. I have been working with them since 2019. Earlier I was stationed in NY but once i got my PR i relocated to canada and moved a remote status. The nature of my job requires me to travel outside of canada a lot. On average I am out of the country 3 months.Additonally, i am looking at a work rotation that may requires me to move to east asia (most probably next year). I have almost 1.5 years left on my PR time towards citizenship.

Looking at the rules online. it seems like time abroad can be counted towards PR status, however this is only if you work for a canadian business or govt org. I can't seem to find anything for international organizations.

Would anyone have experience on how to expediate this process or work around it.