+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Temp worker

meak

Jul 28, 2012
I just got some promising news from an immigration call center worker today. I am a temporary resident. My husband will not sponsor me. I had no idea but I can apparently go to an employer where I am living and seek work, and also a labour market opinion. I am curious as to what I need to do before I seek employment? I can only work for hospitality, mostly. Craigslist etc, too. Anyone know what I should be doing to try and land a job? Any specifics are highly appreciated. Thank you.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
You will need a work permit to be able to work legally in Canada. In order to qualify for a work permit, you will first need to find an employer who is willing to hire you. Once you've found an employer, that employer must first advertise the job for a minimum of one month to prove they could not find a Canadian for the role. Once they have met the advertising requirement, they must then submit the LMO (labour market opinion) application for processing. This processing takes anywhere from 6-20 weeks (this is in addition to the 1 month of advertising required). If the LMO is approved (not all are), you then qualify to apply for a work permit.

It tends to be quite difficult to find employers who are willing to go through the LMO process because the process is so long, costs the employer money and there's no guarantee the LMO will be approved in the end. It tends to be easier to find an employer if you have very specialized skills or experience that isn't easily found in Canada.