+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Self-employeed? HELP

N.Calgary

Apr 30, 2012
Hello,

I am applying under the CEC and I am confused on the Self-employeed term found on Schedule 8. I am a contractor that have my own incorporation registered. However, I am wroking through a contracting company for a one company. My T4 are under my incorpation name. so my question is am I self-employeed? and if I am am I eligable to apply under CEC?

Please advise

Hopefulagain

Apr 20, 2012
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
N.Calgary said:
Hello,

I am applying under the CEC and I am confused on the Self-employeed term found on Schedule 8. I am a contractor that have my own incorporation registered. However, I am wroking through a contracting company for a one company. My T4 are under my incorpation name. so my question is am I self-employeed? and if I am am I eligable to apply under CEC?

Please advise

This is their nmost unclear requirement and I sympathize with your concern as I had the same. From what I understand....

1. if you are incorporated, you will not get a T4 but have to file for a T4A.if that is the case, then you are self employed and not eligible (then again, its a maybe)

2. Do you work for 2-3 companies at a time or are you working for just one company, 37.5 hours a weeks, 365 days a year?

3. Do you work out of the company's office or do you work from home? do you have a 9-5 job or do you work your own hours? if its true for any of the above, i think that is counted as self employed and thereby ineligible.

CIC is not very clear here and hence the confusion. Also will the company give you a letter saying that you have been employed by them since (your start date) and list your duties and hours week a week. generally, if the company does not agree to give that due to whatever reason, it should send the warning bells ringing.