+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Retail banking NOC

Outlawz

Dec 28, 2009
Hi,

I work as a financial service rep at the branch and i believe it corresponds to a Loan officer as I open bank accounts, give loans and personal line of credits as well as mortgages. Other financial institutions have different names for the same position such as account manager, personal banking officer.

Has anyone applied under this title and will it be accepted?

Thank you

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
So you have a job that is one part 1433 -
http://www5.hrsdc.gc.ca/noc/english/noc/2006/ProfileKeyword.aspx?val=1&val1=1433&val11=financial+services&val12=0&val13=0&val14=&val15=0&val16=0

and one part 1232 -
http://www5.hrsdc.gc.ca/noc/english/noc/2006/ProfileKeyword.aspx?val=1&val1=1232&val11=loan+officer&val12=0&val13=0&val14=&val15=0&val16=0

Where 1433 does not qualify (Skill Level C) but 1232 does (Skill level B).

You would have to emphasize the duties related to 1232 and your employer would have to support that in the letter of employment.

This seems to be a common problem (I think the problem is the way that HRSDC classifies banking jobs as unskilled, but...).

To be sure, tho, there's a lot of wishful thinking and creative writing among applicants who WANT to qualify. Be brutally honest with yourself - are the loan officer duties really the majority of your duties? And is your employer going to back you up on that? Even though the job duties are supposed to weigh more than the job title, in practice it seems that when there's a conflict, CIC will either assume the duties are fudged, or investigate -

Outlawz

Dec 28, 2009