+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

please help shed light on my questions

nnadalinn

Sep 11, 2014
Dear all,

I've started asking my questions in the "general" section of the forum, but it looks like it's about time I moved on to this section. I hope someone "in the know" will take the time to answer my questions here.

As I wrote in the general section, we're newly-weds in our 30s who would like to immigrate to Canada - with me as the principal applicant under 5125 (Translators, terminologists and interpreters) and my spouse having the status of an "accompanying spouse" only. Obviously we want to get all the forms and documents ready for sending in by the end of this year, as I think the new rules will have an adverse effect on our chances.

1. Would my proof of experience be enough under the following circumstances? Ever since I graduated with a master's degree in translation/interpreting, I have been working as what is officially listed "editor/reporter" for 7 years. Whilst the job position is officially called "editor/reporter", I have actually been a translator from my mother tongue into English (and vice versa, of course) some 95 percent of the time. Would this be okay for the purposes of our application under the 5125 eligible occupation? The title of the position is only a formal thing that is due to the character and organigram of the organisation (a news wire).

2. While having the aforementioned in-house job, I have - at the same time - been a freelance, working-from-home translator since 2008. I have translated quite a lot of documents for a few translation agencies over the past 6 years (part time and on a self-employed basis), and I think at least one or two of the agencies could be willing to make out reference letters to me. Would this help my case? Do any particular aspects of this freelance work from home need to be stressed in the reference letters?