+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Planning for CEC

justin777

Oct 13, 2015
Hi Guys,

So I started my schooling last month and right now trying to decide and plan for my future.

My primary goal is to get a Permanent Residence, my route would be CEC but as much I don't want
to spend a lot of money in schooling. So I try to minimize my cost as much as possible.

I am taking Computer and Information System, I have my Bachelors Degree back in my home country for Computer Science.

So currently, I have 2 choices,
either I went to a 1 year certificate and will do internship (6 months max per CIC)
OR
I will get a 2 year diploma with COOP if I want

So right now I kinda know the pros and cons for both (Correct me if I'm wrong)
1 year certificate (w/ intership)
Pros-
*Less Cost
*Earlier to take a Job
*Faster to get PR? (But more riskier since less time)
Cons-
*Only 1.5 years of PGWP
*Certificate compared to a diploma
*Hard to get intership (As told by my Computer Chair but considering my credentials)

2 year Diploma (w/ or w/o coop)
Pros-
*3 years PGWP (per CIC)
*Diploma rather than Certificate
*More room time to get CEC
*More points in Experience Class Calculation (2 years or more)
Cons-
*More overhead cost
*1 more year compared to previous option

So right now I am leaning towards 2 year Diploma but honestly I might take a leap of faith on 1 year certificate.

Questions:
Will the 1.5 year PGWP be enough to process my CEC? (I saw some threads that it takes almost "8 months" or more to process it)
What will happen if I finished my PGWP but I am already processing my CEC? (Will I be able to stay in Canada but can't work unless I extend PGWP?)
Is it better to work where I finished my degree or its just the same elsewhere? (I read something about the tax refund I can get from my education)
Is it better to have an immigration consultant? (Will I get better results if I have one like are they biased rather than doing your application all by yourself)