+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PGWP to Information Technology worker program. Please help..

codename84

Nov 20, 2008
Hello guys,

I am explaning my questions in detail, because I could not find any similar situations like mine anywhere online.

I graduated from a one year PG program. (Visual effects last May 2008) and got a post graduation work permit. Before even getting the PG work permit, I got a job and then I used this PG work permit which is for a year, it expires at June 2009. My contract in this company was upto March 2009. This is this week. But last week my company renwewed my contract and said they need my service until 2011 May.

Eventhough my PGWP expires by June 2009, I thought of applying for a proper regular work permit this week.

My profession comes under Information Technology program (national confirmation program which doesn't need any HRSDC confirmation)

http://www.cic.gc.ca/EnGLIsh/work/itw-jobs.asp#jobs4

So I got a letter from my company showing the rules, and explaining about my skills, and offer of the extension of my contract.

After that I applied today and sent out things to this address

Citizenship and Immigration -
Work Permit
CPC-Vegreville
6212 - 55th Avenue, Unit 202
Vegreville AB
T9C 1X6

Which is for

Extensions including:
• work permit extension
• student work permit extension
• open work permit extension
Note: an "extension" is when you are
submitting an application for the
same employer with whom you
currently hold a valid work
permit

I have a few quesitons regarding this. There is also another address

Citizenship and Immigration -
Work Permit
CPC-Vegreville
6212 - 55th Avenue, Unit 203
Vegreville AB
T9C 1X6

for

Work permits for new employers including:
• work permit
• student work permit
• initial open work permit
Note: a "new employer" is any
employer with whom you do not
currently have a valid work
permit