+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Need help with PGWP!!!

dimon9x

Sep 3, 2017
Im currently studying in George Brown College, Hotel Management program(Diploma), the length is 4 semesters,16 months. I started from May 2017 and I have just finished my 1st semester(in Aug 25th) but I decided to change the program and I want to drop the current program and apply to another college (Seneca-Information Technology for 6 semesters) then start study from Jan 2018. Basically, now (from Sep-Dec2017) Im not a full time student because I will start only in Jan 2018, so will I be eligible to get a PGWP after studying in this case?
Here is the rules in cic.gc.ca (http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/study/work-postgrad-who.asp) and I dont really understand what exactly it means. Please Help!

"You aren’t eligible to apply for a PGWP if you:
  • studied in a program that was less than eight months long
  • studied for more than eight months but not continuously (for example, you took a semester off)"

Bs65

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2016
Answering this just from a PGWP view and others can correct me but first you cannot work between now and the start of your new course given of course you are no longer in education of any sort so should take account of this in your plans.

Second you need to ensure you have taken any steps necessary to maintain your status in Canada in this gap given always a chance that in dropping the first course the college may notify CIC of your change in status for non attendance.

Third no reason why you should not qualify for a PGWP once you complete the new course assuming of course where necessary you will plan to extend your study permit to cover the new course and you meet the PGWP requirements.

Your highlight in red would have applied if in taking the first course you took Sept-Dec off from the first course and resumed in January, so an unscheduled break.