+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Moving from UK to Canada? Really at a loss here!

Texmex44

Feb 5, 2009
I intent to move to canada from the UK to be with my girlfriend who i meet in florida 2 years ago whilst i was working for Walt Disney. I have a Degree in Marketing, but have just recently graduated so my experience is limited, although i have been working for the last 8 years while at school. I have enough money to get me settled in Canada, plus fanacial backing from both sets of parents.

Could someone point me in the right direction. If i were to visit her for a few months could i apply for a visa while in canada or do i have to come back home and apply? Im aware that i could apply for a skilled workers visa, but is this the easiest step?

Any info that anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

Yours Andrew Creggan

mapleave

Feb 5, 2009
Hi Andrew

There are a few options for you. I came to Canada on a student visa from Australia thinking it would be simple to obtain a work visa. It’s not always the case. Here are few suggestions to make your transition easier.

This is basic list of things you will need regardless of what type of visa you choose.

Passport, try and make sure it has at least two years validity, it’s a pain to renew it out of the country.

Your University degree, final transcripts etc.

Bank statements. How much you have etc.

A letter from your employer stating you have worked for them, your experience with them, what special skills you possess.

Financial backing is key; it’s really great your Mum and Dad can help you out. They will probably have to write a statutory declaration stating they are willing to help you out.

Now onto visa types…

If you just want to visit you can come to Canada for 90 days with no visa. You will not be able to work or study though.