+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Information on PGWP Eligibility with Online Courses Post-August 31, 2024

kilo91

Jul 25, 2024
Hi everyone - I'm an international student about to enter my final year of undergrad at Queen's, and I'm seeking some clarity regarding the Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) eligibility rules, specifically concerning online courses. I've been getting conflicting information and would greatly appreciate any insights or experiences you can share.

My Academic Timeline:

First Year (2020-2021) Completed a full-time courseload online due to COVID-19 (half in my home country and half in Canada); fully-remote learning was the only option at that time.
Second Year (2021-2022) Completed one full-time Fall semester in-person and took a leave of absence for the Winter semester due to medical reasons (approved by the school, under 150 days).
Third and Fourth Years (2022-2024) Completed both years' full-time courseloads in-person, on campus.
Upcoming Fifth Year (2024-2025) Planning to stay for an extra year to make up for the credits missed during my medical leave. I intend to complete my remaining elective credits by enrolling in the school's online courses while residing in Canada, maintaining full-time student status for both semesters. I'm doing this mainly to seek out part-time internship opportunities in Toronto as as my school is really far from the city.

My Concern:
If I understand correctly, the the temporary policy allowing time spent studying online from within Canada to count towards the length of the PGWP ends on August 31, 2024. Here’s the wording from the IRCC website: