+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Important advice needed

scooby123

Jul 5, 2018
Hi everyone. I am writing this post so that I can get valuable advice.

So I have been very fortunate to get invited for my oath ceremony this month. The main problem that I have is that I am a medical student in the US and going to Canada and waiting for a passport to arrive would affect my education significantly.

I was thinking of taking my oath and then coming back to the US on my Pakistani passport, from where I can apply for a Canadian passport via mail. The real problem though is that my current, F-1 visa for the US states that I am a permanent resident of Canada, which makes me wonder whether taking the oath and surrendering my PR card would automatically invalidate my visa and would make me ineligible to the enter the US until I get a Canadian passport and a new I-20 document. This is causing me significant concern and I would really appreciate if someone could weigh in since I can't seem to find any information about this online.

scooby123

Jul 5, 2018
you do have a student visa in US? travel with no worries, have a citizenship certificate just in case.
Yes. I do have a US student visa. Also can I travel via land border to Canada on a private vehicle if I have my citizenship certificate?

scooby123

Jul 5, 2018
this part is actually more interesting. Is Pakistan allow dual citizenship? you would need to have the passport and the certificate as a replacement to visa or PR card. airline may not let you board, while you cross a land port, the worst scenario is a long and brutal time at the immigration where you will finally pass. I suggest calling CBSA and ask.