+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

immigrant married to canadian and wants a divorce

mlea

Nov 16, 2009
Hi, i met my canadian husband here in canada when i was visiting my sister who is a canadian citizen in 2007, we married here before i went home and started the immigration process while i was there... i landed in canada in December 2008 so its been just about a year now and my problem is that the marriage is just not working out, hes a baby and bloody moody and i want to leave him, i have my 16 year old daughter here and she is just settling in her school, my question is: if i leave my husband would i have to leave the country. I am indipendant and dont ask anything of or from the government, i work full time as a cleaner and pay my own way, i would ask nothing of my husband or claim anything from the government.
if anyone can give some advice, i would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you

Karlshammar

Champion Member
Sep 3, 2009
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
As far as I know, you are free to leave and divorce him and it should not affect your PR status. Since this is so important, however, I would not take any action on my advice. It's only a personal opinion and I do not pretend to know for sure.

Perhaps someone else can verify this?

Suin

VIP Member
Sep 14, 2008
Ontario, Canada
Category........
Visa Office......
CIC Etobocoke, H&C Grounds
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
24-03-2014
File Transfer...
31-07-2014
Med's Request
09-12-2014
LANDED..........
24-02-2015, PR Card Received: 02-04-2015
being already a PR you are free to divorce, you will not lose your status.

job_seeker

VIP Member
Jul 27, 2009
mlea said: