+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

How to enter details of lateral entry degree into the express entry profile

prajeesh

Jan 8, 2015
I am from india. I have a confusion here while entering details in the express entry profile.

My education is as follows:

After completing my degree (10+2+3), I did an advanced diploma course (DOEACC A Level) from 2001 to 2002. It took 1 more year for me to actually clear all the papers. Then I did MCA from 2005 to 2007 (annamalai university). I was admitted to the 3rd semester of MCA directly, thanks to the advanced diploma that I had taken earlier. In effect, I completed the course in 2 years instead of 3 years.

Recently I have obtained the ECA from WES. As per the report from WES, my MCA is equivalent to Master's degree in canada and the duration of the course is mentioned as 3 years. Similary the my degree is mentioned as equivalent to bachelors in canada. WES, however did not assess my diploma course due to some of their policies.

Now my confusion is here in filling the section Study and Languages > Education History in the express entry profile.

When I added details of my MCA I have mentioned that the study is from June 2005 to May 2007. But what will I mention in the column Complete/full academic years

Should I mention 3 years or 2 years. If I add 2 , it will be contradicting the WES report. If I add 3, it will be contradicting the duration of the study which I mentioned in the above fields.

Kindly help!

goldenbowl

Feb 13, 2014
prajeesh said:
If anyone has got a guess, Kindly help!
what have you entered when you send the docs to WES..?

if entered 2 Year then you again should write 2 Year...
if entered 3 Year then you again should write 3 Year..

i also having 2 Year MCA (Lateral Entry).. so i will also need to think about this when i will create EE Profile...

i think 2 Year/3 Year MCA alone does not matter.. they have also check your previous post secondary education, if any before MCA..