+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Full-time Trader/Investor in the Futures market - Express entry

kevmcfoster

Jun 27, 2019
Hello Hello,
I have a simple question. I am a full-time trader/Investor in the Equity and Futures market (stock market, to say it simply). So that would make me self employed. I have been doing it for many many years. I Have a good turnover and great income from it.
But I do it from home, on my personal name (I do not have a company registered for it). Can I apply for Express entry based on this? Will it be considered as full time work experience. I have enough proof to show my turnover and income generated month on month based on this.

I did find NOC 1113, which states "Securities agents, investment dealers and brokers"...But I am not sure if that is the NOC I should be using.

Please do help...any help/suggestion would be useful. If you know of any link/thread of a similar case of someone who has applied for Express entry, do please share here.

Thank you in Advance for all your help.

Regards.

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020
If you are self employed in this NOC, you require the following from the IRCC website:

• if the applicant is self-employed, articles of incorporation or other evidence of business ownership, evidence of self-employment income and documentation from third-party individuals indicating the service provided along with payment details (self-declared main duties or affidavits are not acceptable proof of self-employed work experience).
You want to get your client receipts/invoices too. You have to show you provide a services to your client base.

mark12345680

May 26, 2018
Based on the info given, you seem more like an investor that trades stock on a regular basis & you trade with your own money, whereas the people who fall under NOC1113 are those who are engaged by clients to make investment decisions on their behalf, trade using client's money.

Reactions: Naturgrl

kevmcfoster

Jun 27, 2019