+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

First Steps - Feeling VERY Lost & Need Help/Guidance

dhedrick

Nov 16, 2010
My family and I are just in the very beginning stages of trying to immigrate to Canada, and we are finding the process very daunting and confusing. We do not actually intend to relocate for 2-3 years, but would like to figure out as much of the process as early as possible so that we can begin to get funds and paperwork inline and hopefully have this be as smooth a process as possible.

We life in the USA (Midwest), and intend to relocate to Prince Edward Island. My wife is a registered nurse (associates degree), and will be the primary applicant, as I have no completed education after high school. I have been a national accounts manager for a large company for 10 years, but I don’t believe that puts me in the “skilled worker” category. We have 2 children, both of whom will still be under 17 years old when we hope to move. While we are not well off financially, we are financially stable, and are generally healthy. I have type 1 diabetes (well controlled on an insulin pump), as well as thyroid, cholesterol & blood pressure (all very well controlled on oral medication). Only other family health issues are very well controlled asthma for wife & son. Will these health issues be a significant barrier for us?

Can anyone offer any insight, suggestions, etc. on how to proceed, what we should be doing at this time, etc. that will be of assistance as time goes on? We are seeking permanent resident status, and would ideally like to proceed through the provincial nominee program, but really don’t know the ins and outs of any of this.