+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Express Entry during Career Transition

Fxguy1

Nov 10, 2020
Hello everyone!

My wife and I have begun the process of applying for immigration to Canada. We are both US born citizens and have two children 5 and 7. My wife is a nurse and is working on getting her documentation into the National Nursing Assessment Services. Once she has that completed she will apply for her nursing registration with British Columbia. As for me, I'm in a bit of a career transition. I have been a pharmacist for 13 years. I last worked as a pharmacist in July 2019. Since then I have completed a certificate in general programming and database management. WES evaluated my education as Bachelor's or equivalent 4 year degree for my Bachelors in Chemistry, Masters or professional degree for my PharmD and One year of college for my programming certificate program.

My wife's CRS is 390 and mine is 427. I know the easiest way to qualify for the EE draw would be for me to find employment in Canada which would get me an additional 50 points and qualify me for several provincial nomination programs.

My question is do I need to apply for a work permit to be legally able to work in Canada in order to apply for positions BEFORE we are successful with EE? Also suggestions for appealing to employers who may look at my resume and see pharmacist experience only and not look any further?

Thank you!

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Hello everyone!