+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Express Entry - Advises ....

Alimadhu

Aug 1, 2024
Hi everyone,

I was enrolled in a master's program and got a full-time (40 hours per week) NOC job when I was a student because the restrictions were lifted. I applied for the PGWP in December. I now have 1 year and 8 months of Canadian work experience.

I'm currently filling out my Express Entry profile and have a question:

Regarding the question about studying full-time while working, the rule is that a person must be in class at least 15 hours per week during the academic year to be considered a full-time student. This includes any period of workplace training that's part of the study program.

I'm unsure whether to select 'Yes' or 'No' for this question.

- If I select 'Yes,' I become eligible for the Canadian Experience Class (CEC).
- If I select 'No,' I am not eligible for the CEC. However, my concern is that selecting 'No' doesn't give me any points for the Canadian work experience I gained during my studies, which affects my score under the Federal Skilled Worker Program.

Additionally, I have 4 years of foreign work experience, and the points for that section also decrease when I select 'No.'

Any advice on how to proceed?

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Hi everyone,

I was enrolled in a master's program and got a full-time (40 hours per week) NOC job when I was a student because the restrictions were lifted. I applied for the PGWP in December. I now have 1 year and 8 months of Canadian work experience.

I'm currently filling out my Express Entry profile and have a question: