+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

CSQ points short after March changes, need ways to make up

ashPEQ

Apr 4, 2017
Hi all,

I am doing a 1 year program now in Quebec, before March changes I was over the required 49 but now I am below.

Here is my point breakdown now:

Education: 6

AOT: 9

Work: 4

Language: 6 (hoping to get 6 points from IELTS)

Quebec stay: 5

Finance: 1

Total 47/50

Employment offer, Family In Quebec, Spouse/Common-law partner Characteristics, Presence Of Accompanying Children are all not applicable to me.

I already wasted my 3 year PGWP, as I previously did a 2 year diploma in Ontario and was able to only gain 7 months full time experience as a skilled worker before I had to go back home for emergency reasons, so I won't be getting a Work Permit after graduating this course. I worked as an unpaid intern, Volunteered, worked on other jobs which wasn’t considered skilled according to the NOC grade for CSR points.

I know Quebec counts unpaid internship toward their points system too, Adding all that up still doesn’t get me over 50 points.
I can’t afford myself to do another 2 or 3 year program and get points on Education, So my only option now looks like French language points .

And my question is how are TEF & TEFAQ graded?

As Quebec mainly requires Listening and Speaking from TEF & TEFAQ for points, will I be ok if I get a B2 on listening and speaking and A1 on everything else or is it mandatory that I need to get B2 across all four sections to be able to submit it for CSQ?

I am living in a French speaking city, I feel like I can improve my skills on these sections just by listening and trying to talk with other French speakers but not sure if I can prepare myself for writing/reading too before my college ends in November. Is this possible? Please let me know if there are any other way