+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Canadian Citizenship Question

Mike_925

Nov 22, 2017
Hello Everyone
My name is Mike, and I am a Permanent Resident since April 14, 2016. I will be eligble on April 14, 2018 to become Citizen of Canada. Counting 1 year Max prior of getting Permanent Resident under the new rule.

My question is do I have to wait until April 14, 2018 before I could apply for Citizenship?

Thank you in Advance.

ibry

Jul 25, 2010
Canada
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
Hello Everyone
My name is Mike, and I am a Permanent Resident since April 14, 2016. I will be eligble on April 14, 2018 to become Citizen of Canada. Counting 1 year Max prior of getting Permanent Resident under the new rule.

My question is do I have to wait until April 14, 2018 before I could apply for Citizenship?

Thank you in Advance.
Yes you have to apply when you have 1095 completed days in canada before you apply else your application will be returned , extra buffer days are advised

Reactions: Mike_925

sylviabenita

Nov 13, 2017
Category........
FAM
App. Filed.......
16-10-2017
AOR Received.
16-11-2017
Hello Everyone

Thank you in Advance.
Yes that’s the day you will be eligible to apply.

alphazip

Champion Member
May 23, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Yes, you have to meet the requirements for citizenship before you can apply for citizenship.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/citizenship/become-eligibility.asp

"Regardless of your age, you must have been physically present in Canada for at least:

• 1095 days during the five years right before the date you sign your application