+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can I Qualify for an LMO Exemption?

LeeseePieces

Feb 7, 2011
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi all,

I am an American citizen who was on a 6 month BUNAC work permit in Vancouver. During that time, I worked as a film/tv background performer for an agency. During this time, I was upgraded from an extra to an actor on a feature film and received my first credit. Working holiday visas cannot get an extension, so I returned to the States after my permit expired. Due to my getting a higher wage since receiving my credit (going from 10/hr to 20/hr) and my good relationship with my agents, they want me to come back.

I have researched all ways of coming back to Vancouver and can only come up with applying for a TWP. However, I need an LMO, and due to the non-traditional employer-employee relationship of agencies (agents aren't considered employers), cannot have my agents file the LMO. However, background is considered 'work' according to the definition on the CIC page, has an income tax, has full-time hours, etc. My being a part of agency's roster also doesn't hurt the chances of Canadian employees since there is no limit to the amount of people that a background agency can have on their roster, Canadian or otherwise. I was and would be bringing in a great deal of money to my agency for I was constantly working and being upgraded is very rare. I cannot apply as a FSW or for PR because I do not meet the qualifications for either.

Is it possible that if a detailed explanation for why my work should be LMO exempt is submitted to the Vancouver Temporary Foreign Worker Unit (for the reasons stated above and more) along with a letter from my agency with all the necessary details (emphasis on how much money I bring in) that I could be given an exemption? Not returning is not an option.

rjessome

VIP Member
Feb 24, 2009
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LeeseePieces said:
Hi all,