+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can i apply for my work permit if my study permit extension is still processing?

mbenny

Feb 8, 2022
Hello,

I am an international student recently graduated with 2years diploma, my study permit expired on Nov 30 2021, however i managed to apply for the study permit extension by that day itself, that is on Nov 30.
But i am graduated on Dec 2021 and received my transcript by this January 2022, since my study permit extension is still processing many friends told me to wait until i get a decision on that, then only apply for pgwp.
I dont know what to do its been a while, should i cancel the extension application and apply for pgwp? Or should i wait? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Hello,

I am an international student recently graduated with 2years diploma, my study permit expired on Nov 30 2021, however i managed to apply for the study permit extension by that day itself, that is on Nov 30.
But i am graduated on Dec 2021 and received my transcript by this January 2022, since my study permit extension is still processing many friends told me to wait until i get a decision on that, then only apply for pgwp.
I dont know what to do its been a while, should i cancel the extension application and apply for pgwp? Or should i wait? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
It’s unfortunate that you waited so long to apply for the extension. You will now have to wait until the study permit extension is processed for your PGWP to be processed. I would apply for PGWP but I’m not sure if you’ll be able to work after applying for PGWP because you are still on implied status waiting for your study permit to be extended. Hopefully others can comment. @YVR123 @scylla

mbenny

Feb 8, 2022