+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR Residency obligation while working full time

sparkle389

Feb 5, 2024
Hello!

I have a question, I have been employed full-time by a Canadian business for the past several months. I got this job while residing in Canada. However, I left Canada for 2 months during the holiday season. During this period, I continued working for the same Canadian business remotely, as my physical presence is not a necessity for my role—I can work either from the office or from home, and the company is flexible about this arrangement.

Now, as I am planning to return to Canada, I need to obtain my PRTD due to an issue with my PR card which necessitated a reapplication for its delivery. I have been a permanent resident for over a year.

My question is: Do the 2 months I spent working remotely for the Canadian business, while outside Canada, count towards fulfilling the "employed full-time by a Canadian business" criterion for my residency obligation under section A?

Thank you for your assistance.

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020
My question is: Do the 2 months I spent working remotely for the Canadian business, while outside Canada, count towards fulfilling the "employed full-time by a Canadian business" criterion for my residency obligation under section A?

No. Not unless you were transferred to the company office in the country you went for 2 months.

Reactions: YVR123 and foodie69

armoured

VIP Member
Feb 1, 2015
I have been a permanent resident for over a year.
When you say 'over a year', do you mean just over a year ? Or much longer? Did you never get a PR card?